Fri, 21 Feb 2020 18:00:00 GMTFri, 21 Feb 2020 23:30:00 GMT

Recognising automotive excellence

The North East Automotive Alliance Annual Awards dinner will be held on Friday 21 February 2020 at the Roker Hotel, Sunderland. Join us to celebrate automotive excellence in the North East of England, with the added bonus of excellent networking opportunities!

Now in its third year, the awards which are sponsored by MAKE It Sunderland, are designed to recognise some of the brightest talent and outstanding achievements of companies shaping the North East automotive industry.

Donations will be awarded to schools and school engagement programmes to help raise awareness of the importance of STEM and the attractiveness of a career within the automotive sector. The NEAA awards are supported by some of the region’s most dynamic, forward-looking and successful automotive companies and to date, have donated £33,000 which has gone towards supporting our future talent.


Keynote Speaker

In a further boost to the awards evening, guests will be joined by Mike Hawes, Chief Executive at The Society of Motor Manufacturers and Traders (SMMT) who will deliver the keynote address. SMMT is the trade association for the United Kingdom motor industry and represents 800 automotive companies. 


Book your place at the 2020 Awards Dinner

  • Members Individual, £100 +VAT  I  Table of 10, £1,000 +VAT
  • Non-Members Individual, £150 +VAT  I  Table of 10, £1,500 +VAT

The booking form can be downloaded here or you can book via Eventbrite


Awards Shortlist

School Engagement Award - sponsored by Invest South Tyneside

  • Nissan Motor Manufacturing UK
  • Unipres (UK)

Geoff Ford MBE Apprentice Awards - sponsored by Gateshead College

  • Emma Coulson, Nissan Motor Manufacturing UK
  • Emma Groark, Nissan Motor Manufacturing UK
  • Georgia Claughan, Nissan Motor Manufacturing UK

Graduate Awards - sponsored by NA College

  • Erin Hope, Owben
  • Eve Davison, Nissan Motor Manufacturing UK
  • Madelaine Hays, Adient

Manufacturing Excellence Award - sponsored by Nissan Motor Manufacturing UK

  • Adient Seating
  • Lear Corporation
  • Vic Young

Innovation Awards - sponsored by Newcastle University


  • Lear Corporation
  • Nissan Motor Manufacturing UK


  • The Algorithm People 
  •  Connected Energy
  • Hyperdrive Innovation

SME Company of the Year Award - sponsored by Marelli

  • Advanced Electric Machines Group
  • Hyperdrive Innovation
  • Owben

Outstanding Contribution Award - sponsored by MAKE It Sunderland

  • Winner announced on the evening


Dress Code
Black tie

Download Awards Information

If you have any further queries or wish to speak with a member of the NEAA team, please contact Laura Gage, Marketing & PR Manager on or 0191 516 4400

Join the conversation on Twitter #NEAAawards2020